Using herringbone stitch to create a rivoli bezel setting

Hi Beaders!

Such wonderful things can happen when you’re A) having fun or B) go where you’re curiosity takes you. This Sunday was such a day. I recently purchased a Chinese crystal rivoli from work just to practice with. Not as brilliant as Swarovski, but will do just fine to play with. I wasn’t up to trying to figure out how many beads I needed to make a peyote bezel, so out of curiosity I wanted to see what a herringbone bezel could look like.rivoli1

I’m happy to say it came together much better than I thought! So I made a video showing my steps on how to do this.

I’m now aware that there are a few beaders that have done this kind of bezel but I only found out after I made mine, so I didn’t learn this or lift this technique from another beader. Honestly I think it’s just a natural progress in beading. Just be curious, ask questions and see where your curiosity takes you.

For the video tutorial, please click here. Feel free to share with your rivoli-bezel-challenged friends! This could save lives!

LOL, well, not lives… but it could put a lot of hopeless rivolis to good use πŸ™‚

Happy beading!

-Mandi

7 thoughts on “Using herringbone stitch to create a rivoli bezel setting

  1. bmr250

    I love it.. Thank you so much. I have been fighting and fighting with an Eagle cab, and this would work wonderfully.. Thank you for teaching this technique! You are a lifesaver. Now I have to go back and take this mess out .. or cut and throw to side, hee hee, and start with the herringbone! Ty ty ty ty

    Reply

Leave a comment